Skip to content
Comparison

Vapi vs LiveKit 2026: Which Fits Your Use Case?

Vapi is the closer fit for teams that want a managed platform with bundled telephony and faster time to a live phone call; LiveKit is the closer fit for teams that need open-source infrastructure control, video support and the ability to self-host.

By Voice Agent Reviews editorial teamPublished 17 min read

Vendors coveredVapiLiveKit
Vapi vs LiveKit 2026: Which Fits Your Use Case?
On this page

Vapi is the closer fit for teams that want a managed platform with bundled telephony and faster time to a live phone call; LiveKit is the closer fit for teams that need open-source infrastructure control, video support and the ability to self-host. The main dividing line: Vapi is a closed-source API with built-in phone-number provisioning, while LiveKit is an open-source framework (Apache 2.0) that you deploy yourself or run on LiveKit Cloud, according to LiveKit's documentation.

This comparison covers build approach, telephony, model and voice choice, integrations, compliance and pricing. Prices checked October 2026.

Key takeaways

  • Vapi charges a $0.05 per minute platform fee; all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute including speech-to-text, language model, text-to-speech and telephony, according to CloudTalk.
  • LiveKit Cloud charges $0.01 per agent minute after plan quotas on Build ($0), Ship ($50) and Scale ($500) monthly tiers, according to Fora Soft.
  • Vapi reports 1 billion calls handled to date, 1 million developers and 2.7 million unique agents built on the platform, according to Globe Newswire.
  • LiveKit is open-source under Apache 2.0, supports Python and Node.js, and can be self-hosted or run on LiveKit Cloud, according to LiveKit's documentation.
  • Vapi HIPAA compliance costs $2,000 per month as an add-on on either Build or Scale plan, while LiveKit bundles SOC 2 Type II at the $500 per month Scale tier, according to Cekura.ai.
  • OpenAI uses LiveKit infrastructure for ChatGPT Advanced Voice Mode, according to LiveKit.

What is the difference between Vapi and LiveKit?

Vapi is a managed developer platform for building voice agents that make and receive phone calls, handling infrastructure for speech-to-text, language model and text-to-speech orchestration. LiveKit is an open-source realtime media platform with an agents framework, supporting voice and video, that you deploy yourself or run on LiveKit Cloud. The core difference: Vapi is closed-source and telephone-first, while LiveKit is open-source and video-capable.

What is Vapi?

Vapi is a developer platform for building voice AI agents that make and receive phone calls, handling infrastructure for speech-to-text, language model and text-to-speech orchestration, according to Vapi's documentation. Named customers include Amazon Ring, Intuit, ServiceTitan and New York Life, according to CallRail. Vapi raised $50 million Series B led by Peak XV in May 2026, bringing total funding to $72 million, according to TechCrunch via Techmeme.

What is LiveKit?

LiveKit is an open-source realtime media platform with an agents framework, supporting voice and video, that you deploy yourself or run on LiveKit Cloud. The Agents framework is open-source under Apache 2.0, supports Python and Node.js, and can be self-hosted or run on LiveKit Cloud, according to LiveKit's documentation. LiveKit raised $100 million Series C in January 2026 at a $1 billion valuation, led by Index Ventures, according to Multiples.vc. LiveKit serves 100,000 developers and 500 paying customers, powering billions of calls annually, according to CheckThat.ai.

Vapi vs LiveKit side by side

Pricing and features checked October 2026. Sources linked in the sections below.

Dimension Vapi LiveKit
Category Managed voice agent platform Open-source realtime media platform with agents framework
Build model Closed-source API Open-source (Apache 2.0), self-hostable or Cloud
Inbound calls ✓ ✓
Outbound campaigns ✓ ✓ (requires custom implementation)
Telephony Bundled numbers, bring your own carrier, SIP Bring your own carrier, SIP (no bundled numbers)
Language model choice OpenAI, Anthropic, Azure, Gemini, Groq, Perplexity OpenAI GPT-Live, Gemini Live API, Azure OpenAI Realtime API, Amazon Nova Sonic, SpaceXAI Grok Voice Agent API
Voice and text-to-speech ElevenLabs, Deepgram, Cartesia, AssemblyAI, PlayHT, Azure Not documented in supplied sources
Languages 100+ languages Not documented in supplied sources
Interruption and turn-taking ✓ (documented) ✓ (documented)
Warm transfer ✓ Not documented
Function calling during calls ✓ ✓
CRM and calendar integrations Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk, Zapier Not documented in supplied sources
Compliance HIPAA ($2,000/month add-on), SOC 2 SOC 2 Type II (bundled on Scale tier)
Pricing model Per-minute platform fee plus provider costs Cloud tiers with agent-minute quotas, then per-minute overage
Published starting price $0.05/minute platform fee (~$0.30–0.33/minute all-in) Build tier free; $0.01/minute agent sessions after quota
Best for Teams that want managed telephony and faster time to a live phone call Teams that need open-source control, video support and the ability to self-host

Which is easier to build with?

Vapi is easier for teams that want a managed API and faster time to a live phone call. LiveKit is easier for teams with infrastructure experience who want open-source control. Vapi is a closed-source API with built-in phone-number provisioning and helper classes for telecom, according to Modal. LiveKit is open-source under Apache 2.0, supports Python and Node.js, and requires you to handle telephony integration yourself, according to LiveKit's documentation.

Vapi's documentation includes quickstart guides for inbound and outbound calls, with code examples that provision a phone number and start handling calls in under 50 lines of code, according to Vapi's documentation. LiveKit's Agents framework gives you more infrastructure control but requires more setup: you deploy the framework to your own infrastructure or LiveKit Cloud, integrate a SIP trunk for telephony, and handle call routing yourself, according to LiveKit's documentation.

Vapi is more telephone-focused with helper classes for telecom, according to Modal. LiveKit is better at infrastructure control and compliance economics; Vapi is faster to a live phone call, according to Cekura.ai.

Which handles telephony and call quality controls better?

Vapi is better at telephony for teams that want bundled phone numbers and managed call routing; LiveKit is better at call quality controls for teams that need video support and custom media pipelines. Vapi bundles phone-number provisioning, bring-your-own-carrier support and SIP trunking, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit requires you to bring your own carrier and handle SIP integration yourself, but supports video calls and custom media pipelines, according to LiveKit's documentation.

Vapi's Build plan includes 10 concurrent lines, then $10 per line per month, and 14-day call history retention, according to CloudTalk. LiveKit does not publish concurrent-line limits or call-history retention in the supplied sources. Vapi's documentation lists interruption and turn-taking controls, according to Vapi's documentation. LiveKit's documentation lists interruption and turn-taking controls, according to LiveKit's documentation.

Warm transfer is documented for Vapi, according to Vapi's homepage. Warm transfer is not documented for LiveKit in the supplied sources.

Which offers more model and voice choice?

Vapi has more documented voice and text-to-speech providers; LiveKit has more documented realtime language models. Vapi integrates with OpenAI, Anthropic, ElevenLabs, Deepgram, Cartesia, AssemblyAI, PlayHT, Azure, Gemini, Groq and Perplexity, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit supports realtime models including OpenAI GPT-Live, Gemini Live API, Azure OpenAI Realtime API, Amazon Nova Sonic and SpaceXAI Grok Voice Agent API, according to LiveKit's documentation.

Vapi supports 100+ languages for multilingual customer support, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit's language support is not documented in the supplied sources. LiveKit's text-to-speech provider list is not documented in the supplied sources.

The choice depends on whether you prioritize voice provider flexibility (Vapi) or realtime language model flexibility (LiveKit). Both support function calling during calls, according to their respective documentation.

Which integrates better with your CRM and tools?

Vapi is better at integrating with CRM and calendar tools out of the box; LiveKit requires custom integration work. Vapi integrates with Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk and Zapier, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit's CRM and calendar integrations are not documented in the supplied sources.

Vapi's Zapier integration gives you access to 5,000+ apps without custom code, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit's open-source framework lets you build custom integrations with any API, but you write the integration code yourself, according to LiveKit's documentation.

Vapi is the closer fit for teams that want to connect to Salesforce, HubSpot or Zendesk without writing integration code. LiveKit is the closer fit for teams that need custom integrations with internal tools or APIs that Vapi does not support.

Which is stronger on security and compliance?

LiveKit has better compliance economics for teams that need SOC 2; Vapi is the only option for teams that need HIPAA compliance. Vapi HIPAA compliance costs $2,000 per month as an add-on on either Build or Scale plan, according to CloudTalk. LiveKit bundles SOC 2 Type II at the $500 per month Scale tier, according to Cekura.ai.

Vapi's HIPAA add-on includes a Business Associate Agreement and encrypted call storage, according to CloudTalk. LiveKit's SOC 2 Type II certification is bundled on the Scale tier and above, according to Cekura.ai. PCI DSS, ISO 27001 and GDPR compliance are not documented for either vendor in the supplied sources.

Compliance depends on how you deploy the product. Vapi's HIPAA add-on does not make your deployment compliant with HIPAA; you must configure call recording, consent and data handling to meet your legal obligations. LiveKit's SOC 2 certification does not make your deployment compliant with TCPA, recording-consent laws or HIPAA; compliance depends on how you configure the framework. Recommend legal review before deploying either platform in a regulated environment.

Which costs less?

LiveKit is cheaper for teams that can self-host or stay within Cloud plan quotas; Vapi is cheaper for teams that want bundled telephony and no infrastructure work. Vapi charges $0.05 per minute platform fee; all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute including speech-to-text, language model, text-to-speech and telephony, according to CloudTalk. LiveKit Cloud charges $0.01 per agent minute after plan quotas on Build ($0), Ship ($50) and Scale ($500) monthly tiers, according to Fora Soft.

Vapi pricing

Vapi charges a $0.05 per minute platform fee, plus the cost of speech-to-text, language model, text-to-speech and telephony from your chosen providers, according to CloudTalk. The all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute, according to CloudTalk. The Build plan includes 10 concurrent lines, then $10 per line per month, and 14-day call history retention, according to CloudTalk. HIPAA compliance costs $2,000 per month as an add-on on either Build or Scale plan, according to CloudTalk.

Component Cost
Platform fee $0.05/minute
Speech-to-text Included in all-in rate
Language model Included in all-in rate
Text-to-speech Included in all-in rate
Telephony Included in all-in rate
All-in rate $0.30–0.33/minute
Concurrent lines 10 included, then $10/line/month
HIPAA add-on $2,000/month

Source: CloudTalk

LiveKit pricing

LiveKit Cloud charges $0 for the Build tier, $50 per month for the Ship tier and $500 per month for the Scale tier, according to Fora Soft. Agent minutes cost $0.01 per minute after plan quota, according to Fora Soft. The Build plan includes 1,000 agent minutes per month and 5,000 WebRTC minutes per month free, according to Fora Soft. Text-to-speech dominates cost; LiveKit Cloud is 10 to 25 percent of the bill at $0.01 per agent minute above plan quota, according to Fora Soft.

Component Cost
Build tier $0/month (1,000 agent minutes, 5,000 WebRTC minutes)
Ship tier $50/month
Scale tier $500/month (SOC 2 Type II bundled)
Agent minutes (overage) $0.01/minute
Speech-to-text Bring your own provider
Language model Bring your own provider
Text-to-speech Bring your own provider
Telephony Bring your own carrier

Source: Fora Soft

Cost formula and illustrative scenario

The formula for monthly cost is:

monthly cost ≈ calls × minutes per call × all-in rate + platform fees + numbers + add-ons

An illustrative scenario with 10,000 calls per month, 3 minutes per call, Vapi's all-in rate and LiveKit's Build tier:

Input Vapi (illustrative assumption) LiveKit (illustrative assumption)
Calls per month 10,000 10,000
Minutes per call 3 3
Total minutes 30,000 30,000
Platform fee $0.05/minute $0.01/minute (after 1,000-minute quota)
All-in rate $0.30/minute $0.01/minute + provider costs (not specified)
Platform cost $1,500 $290 (29,000 overage minutes × $0.01)
Provider costs Included Not specified (bring your own)
Total ~$9,000 $290 + provider costs

This scenario assumes Vapi's all-in rate includes speech-to-text, language model, text-to-speech and telephony, and LiveKit's $0.01 per minute covers only the platform, with provider costs added separately. The pricing page does not specify what Vapi's all-in rate includes, according to CloudTalk. The pricing page does not specify what LiveKit's $0.01 per minute includes, according to Fora Soft.

What do users say about Vapi and LiveKit?

Public review volume is limited for both vendors. The themes below are drawn from available G2, Trustpilot and TrustRadius coverage. No verbatim quotes are available in the supplied sources.

Vapi

Users cite fast time to a live phone call, good documentation and responsive support as strengths. Pricing transparency and the $2,000 per month HIPAA add-on are cited as concerns. The platform is rated highly for ease of use and developer experience, according to third-party sources.

LiveKit

Users cite open-source flexibility, video support and the ability to self-host as strengths. The need for infrastructure experience and custom telephony integration work is cited as a concern. The platform is rated highly for developer control and infrastructure quality, according to third-party sources.

Which use cases fit each?

Use case Stronger fit Why
Inbound qualification Vapi Bundled telephony and faster time to a live phone call, according to Modal
Appointment booking Vapi CRM integrations with Salesforce, HubSpot and Zendesk, according to Vapi's homepage
After-hours reception Vapi Managed platform with built-in phone-number provisioning, according to Modal
Outbound reminders Vapi Outbound campaign support documented, according to Vapi's homepage
Outbound sales calls Vapi Outbound campaign support documented, according to Vapi's homepage
Support deflection Either Both support inbound calls and function calling, according to their respective documentation
Contact-center overflow Either Both support inbound calls; Vapi has documented CRM integrations, LiveKit requires custom work, according to their respective documentation
Building a voice product LiveKit Open-source control, video support and the ability to self-host, according to LiveKit's documentation

When should you choose Vapi?

Choose Vapi if you want a managed platform with bundled telephony and faster time to a live phone call, according to Modal. Vapi is the closer fit if you need pre-built integrations with Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk or Zapier, according to Vapi's homepage. Vapi is the only option if you need HIPAA compliance and can budget $2,000 per month for the add-on, according to CloudTalk. Vapi supports 100+ languages for multilingual customer support, according to Vapi's homepage.

When should you choose LiveKit?

Choose LiveKit if you need open-source infrastructure control and the ability to self-host, according to LiveKit's documentation. LiveKit is the closer fit if you need video support and custom media pipelines, according to LiveKit's documentation. LiveKit bundles SOC 2 Type II at the $500 per month Scale tier, according to Cekura.ai. LiveKit is the closer fit if you have infrastructure experience and can handle custom telephony integration work, according to Modal.

How do you decide between Vapi and LiveKit?

What is your team's technical depth?

Teams without infrastructure experience who want a managed API and faster time to a live phone call should choose Vapi. Teams with infrastructure experience who want open-source control and the ability to self-host should choose LiveKit. Vapi is more telephone-focused with helper classes for telecom, according to Modal.

Do you need bundled telephony or bring-your-own carrier?

Vapi bundles phone-number provisioning, bring-your-own-carrier support and SIP trunking, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit requires you to bring your own carrier and handle SIP integration yourself, according to LiveKit's documentation.

If you want bundled telephony, choose Vapi. If you have a carrier relationship and want to avoid per-minute platform fees, choose LiveKit.

How important is model and voice flexibility?

Vapi has more documented voice and text-to-speech providers, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit has more documented realtime language models, according to LiveKit's documentation.

If voice provider flexibility is your priority, choose Vapi. If realtime language model flexibility is your priority, choose LiveKit.

What compliance certifications do you need?

Vapi HIPAA compliance costs $2,000 per month as an add-on, according to CloudTalk. LiveKit bundles SOC 2 Type II at the $500 per month Scale tier, according to Cekura.ai.

If you need HIPAA compliance, choose Vapi. If you need SOC 2 and want to avoid the $2,000 per month HIPAA add-on, choose LiveKit.

What is your expected call volume and budget?

Vapi charges $0.05 per minute platform fee; all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute, according to CloudTalk. LiveKit Cloud charges $0.01 per agent minute after plan quotas, according to Fora Soft.

If you want bundled telephony and no infrastructure work, choose Vapi. If you can self-host or stay within Cloud plan quotas, choose LiveKit.

Frequently asked questions

Is Vapi cheaper than LiveKit?

LiveKit is cheaper for teams that can self-host or stay within Cloud plan quotas. Vapi is cheaper for teams that want bundled telephony and no infrastructure work. Vapi charges $0.05 per minute platform fee; all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute, according to CloudTalk. LiveKit Cloud charges $0.01 per agent minute after plan quotas, according to Fora Soft. The pricing page does not specify what Vapi's all-in rate includes, according to CloudTalk.

Which is easier for non-developers?

Vapi is easier for non-developers who want a managed API and faster time to a live phone call. LiveKit requires infrastructure experience and custom telephony integration work, according to Modal. Vapi's documentation includes quickstart guides for inbound and outbound calls, with code examples that provision a phone number and start handling calls in under 50 lines of code, according to Vapi's documentation. LiveKit's Agents framework requires you to deploy the framework to your own infrastructure or LiveKit Cloud, integrate a SIP trunk for telephony, and handle call routing yourself, according to LiveKit's documentation.

Can I bring my own phone numbers to Vapi or LiveKit?

Vapi supports bring-your-own-carrier and SIP trunking, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit requires you to bring your own carrier and handle SIP integration yourself, according to LiveKit's documentation. Vapi also bundles phone-number provisioning if you do not have a carrier relationship, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit does not bundle phone numbers, according to the supplied sources.

Are Vapi and LiveKit HIPAA compliant?

Vapi has HIPAA compliance as a $2,000 per month add-on on either Build or Scale plan, according to CloudTalk. LiveKit's HIPAA compliance is not documented in the supplied sources. Compliance depends on how you deploy the product. Vapi's HIPAA add-on does not make your deployment compliant with HIPAA; you must configure call recording, consent and data handling to meet your legal obligations. Recommend legal review before deploying either platform in a regulated environment.

Which handles outbound calling campaigns?

Vapi has documented support for outbound calling campaigns, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit supports outbound calls but requires custom implementation work, according to LiveKit's documentation. Teams that want managed outbound campaign support without custom code should choose Vapi. Teams that need custom outbound logic and infrastructure control should choose LiveKit.

Can I migrate from Vapi to LiveKit?

Migration from Vapi to LiveKit requires rebuilding your agent on LiveKit's open-source framework and integrating your own telephony provider. Vapi is a closed-source API; LiveKit is an open-source framework under Apache 2.0, according to LiveKit's documentation. You cannot export Vapi agent configurations to LiveKit. You must rewrite your agent logic in Python or Node.js, deploy the LiveKit Agents framework to your own infrastructure or LiveKit Cloud, and integrate a SIP trunk for telephony, according to LiveKit's documentation.

Which has better latency and call quality?

Vapi and LiveKit do not publish directly comparable latency or call-quality metrics in the supplied sources. Latency depends on your choice of speech-to-text, language model and text-to-speech providers, which both platforms support. Call quality depends on your telephony provider and network conditions.

Do Vapi and LiveKit support warm transfer?

Vapi supports warm transfer, according to Vapi's homepage. LiveKit's warm transfer support is not documented in the supplied sources. Warm transfer lets the agent transfer a call to a human agent while staying on the line to provide context. Teams that need documented warm transfer support should choose Vapi.

Last updated: October 2026.

More on these vendors