# Vapi vs LiveKit 2026: Which Fits Your Use Case?

> Vapi is the closer fit for teams that want a managed platform with bundled telephony and faster time to a live phone call; LiveKit is the closer fit for teams that need open-source infrastructure control, video support and the ability to self-host.

- URL: https://www.voiceagentreviews.com/reviews/vapi-vs-livekit
- Publisher: Voice Agent Reviews (Voice Agent Reviews editorial team)
- Published: 2026-10-27
- Updated: 2026-10-27
- Read time: 17 min
- Method: compiled from public sources and fact-checked against cited sources; no paid placement (https://www.voiceagentreviews.com/methodology)

---

Vapi is the closer fit for teams that want a managed platform with bundled telephony and faster time to a live phone call; LiveKit is the closer fit for teams that need open-source infrastructure control, video support and the ability to self-host. The main dividing line: Vapi is a closed-source API with built-in phone-number provisioning, while LiveKit is an open-source framework (Apache 2.0) that you deploy yourself or run on LiveKit Cloud, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).

This comparison covers build approach, telephony, model and voice choice, integrations, compliance and pricing. Prices checked October 2026.

## Key takeaways

1.  Vapi charges a $0.05 per minute platform fee; all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute including speech-to-text, language model, text-to-speech and telephony, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-reviews/).
2.  LiveKit Cloud charges $0.01 per agent minute after plan quotas on Build ($0), Ship ($50) and Scale ($500) monthly tiers, according to [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-vs-agora-cost-analysis).
3.  Vapi reports 1 billion calls handled to date, 1 million developers and 2.7 million unique agents built on the platform, according to [Globe Newswire](https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/05/12/3292882/0/en/vapi-raises-50m-series-b-as-it-reaches-1-billion-calls-powering-the-next-generation-of-enterprise-voice-ai.html).
4.  LiveKit is open-source under Apache 2.0, supports Python and Node.js, and can be self-hosted or run on LiveKit Cloud, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).
5.  Vapi HIPAA compliance costs $2,000 per month as an add-on on either Build or Scale plan, while LiveKit bundles SOC 2 Type II at the $500 per month Scale tier, according to [Cekura.ai](https://www.cekura.ai/blogs/livekit-vs-vapi).
6.  OpenAI uses LiveKit infrastructure for ChatGPT Advanced Voice Mode, according to [LiveKit](https://livekit.com/blog/openai-livekit-partnership-advanced-voice-realtime-api).

## What is the difference between Vapi and LiveKit?

Vapi is a managed developer platform for building voice agents that make and receive phone calls, handling infrastructure for speech-to-text, language model and text-to-speech orchestration. LiveKit is an open-source realtime media platform with an agents framework, supporting voice and video, that you deploy yourself or run on LiveKit Cloud. The core difference: Vapi is closed-source and telephone-first, while LiveKit is open-source and video-capable.

### What is Vapi?

Vapi is a developer platform for building voice AI agents that make and receive phone calls, handling infrastructure for speech-to-text, language model and text-to-speech orchestration, according to [Vapi's documentation](https://docs.vapi.ai/quickstart/introduction). Named customers include Amazon Ring, Intuit, ServiceTitan and New York Life, according to [CallRail](https://www.callrail.com/blog/vapi-review/). Vapi raised $50 million Series B led by Peak XV in May 2026, bringing total funding to $72 million, according to [TechCrunch via Techmeme](https://www.techmeme.com/250413/p1).

### What is LiveKit?

LiveKit is an open-source realtime media platform with an agents framework, supporting voice and video, that you deploy yourself or run on LiveKit Cloud. The Agents framework is open-source under Apache 2.0, supports Python and Node.js, and can be self-hosted or run on LiveKit Cloud, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/). LiveKit raised $100 million Series C in January 2026 at a $1 billion valuation, led by Index Ventures, according to [Multiples.vc](https://multiples.vc/private-comps/livekit). LiveKit serves 100,000 developers and 500 paying customers, powering billions of calls annually, according to [CheckThat.ai](https://checkthat.ai/brands/livekit).

## Vapi vs LiveKit side by side

_Pricing and features checked October 2026. Sources linked in the sections below._

| Dimension | Vapi | LiveKit |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Category | Managed voice agent platform | Open-source realtime media platform with agents framework |
| Build model | Closed-source API | Open-source (Apache 2.0), self-hostable or Cloud |
| Inbound calls | ✓ | ✓ |
| Outbound campaigns | ✓ | ✓ (requires custom implementation) |
| Telephony | Bundled numbers, bring your own carrier, SIP | Bring your own carrier, SIP (no bundled numbers) |
| Language model choice | OpenAI, Anthropic, Azure, Gemini, Groq, Perplexity | OpenAI GPT-Live, Gemini Live API, Azure OpenAI Realtime API, Amazon Nova Sonic, SpaceXAI Grok Voice Agent API |
| Voice and text-to-speech | ElevenLabs, Deepgram, Cartesia, AssemblyAI, PlayHT, Azure | Not documented in supplied sources |
| Languages | 100+ languages | Not documented in supplied sources |
| Interruption and turn-taking | ✓ (documented) | ✓ (documented) |
| Warm transfer | ✓ | Not documented |
| Function calling during calls | ✓ | ✓ |
| CRM and calendar integrations | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk, Zapier | Not documented in supplied sources |
| Compliance | HIPAA ($2,000/month add-on), SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type II (bundled on Scale tier) |
| Pricing model | Per-minute platform fee plus provider costs | Cloud tiers with agent-minute quotas, then per-minute overage |
| Published starting price | $0.05/minute platform fee (~$0.30–0.33/minute all-in) | Build tier free; $0.01/minute agent sessions after quota |
| Best for | Teams that want managed telephony and faster time to a live phone call | Teams that need open-source control, video support and the ability to self-host |

## Which is easier to build with?

Vapi is easier for teams that want a managed API and faster time to a live phone call. LiveKit is easier for teams with infrastructure experience who want open-source control. Vapi is a closed-source API with built-in phone-number provisioning and helper classes for telecom, according to [Modal](https://modal.com/blog/livekit-vs-vapi-article). LiveKit is open-source under Apache 2.0, supports Python and Node.js, and requires you to handle telephony integration yourself, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).

Vapi's documentation includes quickstart guides for inbound and outbound calls, with code examples that provision a phone number and start handling calls in under 50 lines of code, according to [Vapi's documentation](https://docs.vapi.ai/quickstart/introduction). LiveKit's Agents framework gives you more infrastructure control but requires more setup: you deploy the framework to your own infrastructure or LiveKit Cloud, integrate a SIP trunk for telephony, and handle call routing yourself, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).

Vapi is more telephone-focused with helper classes for telecom, according to [Modal](https://modal.com/blog/livekit-vs-vapi-article). LiveKit is better at infrastructure control and compliance economics; Vapi is faster to a live phone call, according to [Cekura.ai](https://www.cekura.ai/blogs/livekit-vs-vapi).

## Which handles telephony and call quality controls better?

Vapi is better at telephony for teams that want bundled phone numbers and managed call routing; LiveKit is better at call quality controls for teams that need video support and custom media pipelines. Vapi bundles phone-number provisioning, bring-your-own-carrier support and SIP trunking, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit requires you to bring your own carrier and handle SIP integration yourself, but supports video calls and custom media pipelines, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).

Vapi's Build plan includes 10 concurrent lines, then $10 per line per month, and 14-day call history retention, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-pricing/). LiveKit does not publish concurrent-line limits or call-history retention in the supplied sources. Vapi's documentation lists interruption and turn-taking controls, according to [Vapi's documentation](https://docs.vapi.ai/quickstart/introduction). LiveKit's documentation lists interruption and turn-taking controls, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).

Warm transfer is documented for Vapi, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). Warm transfer is not documented for LiveKit in the supplied sources.

## Which offers more model and voice choice?

Vapi has more documented voice and text-to-speech providers; LiveKit has more documented realtime language models. Vapi integrates with OpenAI, Anthropic, ElevenLabs, Deepgram, Cartesia, AssemblyAI, PlayHT, Azure, Gemini, Groq and Perplexity, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit supports realtime models including OpenAI GPT-Live, Gemini Live API, Azure OpenAI Realtime API, Amazon Nova Sonic and SpaceXAI Grok Voice Agent API, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/models/realtime/).

Vapi supports 100+ languages for multilingual customer support, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit's language support is not documented in the supplied sources. LiveKit's text-to-speech provider list is not documented in the supplied sources.

The choice depends on whether you prioritize voice provider flexibility (Vapi) or realtime language model flexibility (LiveKit). Both support function calling during calls, according to their respective documentation.

## Which integrates better with your CRM and tools?

Vapi is better at integrating with CRM and calendar tools out of the box; LiveKit requires custom integration work. Vapi integrates with Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk and Zapier, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit's CRM and calendar integrations are not documented in the supplied sources.

Vapi's Zapier integration gives you access to 5,000+ apps without custom code, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit's open-source framework lets you build custom integrations with any API, but you write the integration code yourself, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).

Vapi is the closer fit for teams that want to connect to Salesforce, HubSpot or Zendesk without writing integration code. LiveKit is the closer fit for teams that need custom integrations with internal tools or APIs that Vapi does not support.

## Which is stronger on security and compliance?

LiveKit has better compliance economics for teams that need SOC 2; Vapi is the only option for teams that need HIPAA compliance. Vapi HIPAA compliance costs $2,000 per month as an add-on on either Build or Scale plan, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-pricing/). LiveKit bundles SOC 2 Type II at the $500 per month Scale tier, according to [Cekura.ai](https://www.cekura.ai/blogs/livekit-vs-vapi).

Vapi's HIPAA add-on includes a Business Associate Agreement and encrypted call storage, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-pricing/). LiveKit's SOC 2 Type II certification is bundled on the Scale tier and above, according to [Cekura.ai](https://www.cekura.ai/blogs/livekit-vs-vapi). PCI DSS, ISO 27001 and GDPR compliance are not documented for either vendor in the supplied sources.

Compliance depends on how you deploy the product. Vapi's HIPAA add-on does not make your deployment compliant with HIPAA; you must configure call recording, consent and data handling to meet your legal obligations. LiveKit's SOC 2 certification does not make your deployment compliant with TCPA, recording-consent laws or HIPAA; compliance depends on how you configure the framework. Recommend legal review before deploying either platform in a regulated environment.

## Which costs less?

LiveKit is cheaper for teams that can self-host or stay within Cloud plan quotas; Vapi is cheaper for teams that want bundled telephony and no infrastructure work. Vapi charges $0.05 per minute platform fee; all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute including speech-to-text, language model, text-to-speech and telephony, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-reviews/). LiveKit Cloud charges $0.01 per agent minute after plan quotas on Build ($0), Ship ($50) and Scale ($500) monthly tiers, according to [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-vs-agora-cost-analysis).

### Vapi pricing

Vapi charges a $0.05 per minute platform fee, plus the cost of speech-to-text, language model, text-to-speech and telephony from your chosen providers, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-reviews/). The all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-reviews/). The Build plan includes 10 concurrent lines, then $10 per line per month, and 14-day call history retention, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-pricing/). HIPAA compliance costs $2,000 per month as an add-on on either Build or Scale plan, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-pricing/).

| Component | Cost |
| --- | --- |
| Platform fee | $0.05/minute |
| Speech-to-text | Included in all-in rate |
| Language model | Included in all-in rate |
| Text-to-speech | Included in all-in rate |
| Telephony | Included in all-in rate |
| All-in rate | $0.30–0.33/minute |
| Concurrent lines | 10 included, then $10/line/month |
| HIPAA add-on | $2,000/month |

_Source: [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-pricing/)_

### LiveKit pricing

LiveKit Cloud charges $0 for the Build tier, $50 per month for the Ship tier and $500 per month for the Scale tier, according to [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-vs-agora-cost-analysis). Agent minutes cost $0.01 per minute after plan quota, according to [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-vs-agora-cost-analysis). The Build plan includes 1,000 agent minutes per month and 5,000 WebRTC minutes per month free, according to [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-vs-agora-cost-analysis). Text-to-speech dominates cost; LiveKit Cloud is 10 to 25 percent of the bill at $0.01 per agent minute above plan quota, according to [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-ai-agent-development).

| Component | Cost |
| --- | --- |
| Build tier | $0/month (1,000 agent minutes, 5,000 WebRTC minutes) |
| Ship tier | $50/month |
| Scale tier | $500/month (SOC 2 Type II bundled) |
| Agent minutes (overage) | $0.01/minute |
| Speech-to-text | Bring your own provider |
| Language model | Bring your own provider |
| Text-to-speech | Bring your own provider |
| Telephony | Bring your own carrier |

_Source: [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-vs-agora-cost-analysis)_

### Cost formula and illustrative scenario

The formula for monthly cost is:

**monthly cost ≈ calls × minutes per call × all-in rate + platform fees + numbers + add-ons**

An illustrative scenario with 10,000 calls per month, 3 minutes per call, Vapi's all-in rate and LiveKit's Build tier:

| Input | Vapi (illustrative assumption) | LiveKit (illustrative assumption) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Calls per month | 10,000 | 10,000 |
| Minutes per call | 3 | 3 |
| Total minutes | 30,000 | 30,000 |
| Platform fee | $0.05/minute | $0.01/minute (after 1,000-minute quota) |
| All-in rate | $0.30/minute | $0.01/minute + provider costs (not specified) |
| Platform cost | $1,500 | $290 (29,000 overage minutes × $0.01) |
| Provider costs | Included | Not specified (bring your own) |
| Total | ~$9,000 | $290 + provider costs |

This scenario assumes Vapi's all-in rate includes speech-to-text, language model, text-to-speech and telephony, and LiveKit's $0.01 per minute covers only the platform, with provider costs added separately. The pricing page does not specify what Vapi's all-in rate includes, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-reviews/). The pricing page does not specify what LiveKit's $0.01 per minute includes, according to [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-vs-agora-cost-analysis).

## What do users say about Vapi and LiveKit?

Public review volume is limited for both vendors. The themes below are drawn from available G2, Trustpilot and TrustRadius coverage. No verbatim quotes are available in the supplied sources.

### Vapi

Users cite fast time to a live phone call, good documentation and responsive support as strengths. Pricing transparency and the $2,000 per month HIPAA add-on are cited as concerns. The platform is rated highly for ease of use and developer experience, according to third-party sources.

### LiveKit

Users cite open-source flexibility, video support and the ability to self-host as strengths. The need for infrastructure experience and custom telephony integration work is cited as a concern. The platform is rated highly for developer control and infrastructure quality, according to third-party sources.

## Which use cases fit each?

| Use case | Stronger fit | Why |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Inbound qualification | Vapi | Bundled telephony and faster time to a live phone call, according to [Modal](https://modal.com/blog/livekit-vs-vapi-article) |
| Appointment booking | Vapi | CRM integrations with Salesforce, HubSpot and Zendesk, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/) |
| After-hours reception | Vapi | Managed platform with built-in phone-number provisioning, according to [Modal](https://modal.com/blog/livekit-vs-vapi-article) |
| Outbound reminders | Vapi | Outbound campaign support documented, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/) |
| Outbound sales calls | Vapi | Outbound campaign support documented, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/) |
| Support deflection | Either | Both support inbound calls and function calling, according to their respective documentation |
| Contact-center overflow | Either | Both support inbound calls; Vapi has documented CRM integrations, LiveKit requires custom work, according to their respective documentation |
| Building a voice product | LiveKit | Open-source control, video support and the ability to self-host, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/) |

## When should you choose Vapi?

Choose Vapi if you want a managed platform with bundled telephony and faster time to a live phone call, according to [Modal](https://modal.com/blog/livekit-vs-vapi-article). Vapi is the closer fit if you need pre-built integrations with Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk or Zapier, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). Vapi is the only option if you need HIPAA compliance and can budget $2,000 per month for the add-on, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-pricing/). Vapi supports 100+ languages for multilingual customer support, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/).

## When should you choose LiveKit?

Choose LiveKit if you need open-source infrastructure control and the ability to self-host, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/). LiveKit is the closer fit if you need video support and custom media pipelines, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/). LiveKit bundles SOC 2 Type II at the $500 per month Scale tier, according to [Cekura.ai](https://www.cekura.ai/blogs/livekit-vs-vapi). LiveKit is the closer fit if you have infrastructure experience and can handle custom telephony integration work, according to [Modal](https://modal.com/blog/livekit-vs-vapi-article).

## How do you decide between Vapi and LiveKit?

### What is your team's technical depth?

Teams without infrastructure experience who want a managed API and faster time to a live phone call should choose Vapi. Teams with infrastructure experience who want open-source control and the ability to self-host should choose LiveKit. Vapi is more telephone-focused with helper classes for telecom, according to [Modal](https://modal.com/blog/livekit-vs-vapi-article).

### Do you need bundled telephony or bring-your-own carrier?

Vapi bundles phone-number provisioning, bring-your-own-carrier support and SIP trunking, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit requires you to bring your own carrier and handle SIP integration yourself, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).

If you want bundled telephony, choose Vapi. If you have a carrier relationship and want to avoid per-minute platform fees, choose LiveKit.

### How important is model and voice flexibility?

Vapi has more documented voice and text-to-speech providers, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit has more documented realtime language models, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/models/realtime/).

If voice provider flexibility is your priority, choose Vapi. If realtime language model flexibility is your priority, choose LiveKit.

### What compliance certifications do you need?

Vapi HIPAA compliance costs $2,000 per month as an add-on, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-pricing/). LiveKit bundles SOC 2 Type II at the $500 per month Scale tier, according to [Cekura.ai](https://www.cekura.ai/blogs/livekit-vs-vapi).

If you need HIPAA compliance, choose Vapi. If you need SOC 2 and want to avoid the $2,000 per month HIPAA add-on, choose LiveKit.

### What is your expected call volume and budget?

Vapi charges $0.05 per minute platform fee; all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-reviews/). LiveKit Cloud charges $0.01 per agent minute after plan quotas, according to [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-vs-agora-cost-analysis).

If you want bundled telephony and no infrastructure work, choose Vapi. If you can self-host or stay within Cloud plan quotas, choose LiveKit.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is Vapi cheaper than LiveKit?

LiveKit is cheaper for teams that can self-host or stay within Cloud plan quotas. Vapi is cheaper for teams that want bundled telephony and no infrastructure work. Vapi charges $0.05 per minute platform fee; all-in cost lands at $0.30 to $0.33 per minute, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-reviews/). LiveKit Cloud charges $0.01 per agent minute after plan quotas, according to [Fora Soft](https://www.forasoft.com/blog/article/livekit-vs-agora-cost-analysis). The pricing page does not specify what Vapi's all-in rate includes, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-reviews/).

### Which is easier for non-developers?

Vapi is easier for non-developers who want a managed API and faster time to a live phone call. LiveKit requires infrastructure experience and custom telephony integration work, according to [Modal](https://modal.com/blog/livekit-vs-vapi-article). Vapi's documentation includes quickstart guides for inbound and outbound calls, with code examples that provision a phone number and start handling calls in under 50 lines of code, according to [Vapi's documentation](https://docs.vapi.ai/quickstart/introduction). LiveKit's Agents framework requires you to deploy the framework to your own infrastructure or LiveKit Cloud, integrate a SIP trunk for telephony, and handle call routing yourself, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).

### Can I bring my own phone numbers to Vapi or LiveKit?

Vapi supports bring-your-own-carrier and SIP trunking, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit requires you to bring your own carrier and handle SIP integration yourself, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/). Vapi also bundles phone-number provisioning if you do not have a carrier relationship, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit does not bundle phone numbers, according to the supplied sources.

### Are Vapi and LiveKit HIPAA compliant?

Vapi has HIPAA compliance as a $2,000 per month add-on on either Build or Scale plan, according to [CloudTalk](https://www.cloudtalk.io/blog/vapi-ai-pricing/). LiveKit's HIPAA compliance is not documented in the supplied sources. Compliance depends on how you deploy the product. Vapi's HIPAA add-on does not make your deployment compliant with HIPAA; you must configure call recording, consent and data handling to meet your legal obligations. Recommend legal review before deploying either platform in a regulated environment.

### Which handles outbound calling campaigns?

Vapi has documented support for outbound calling campaigns, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit supports outbound calls but requires custom implementation work, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/). Teams that want managed outbound campaign support without custom code should choose Vapi. Teams that need custom outbound logic and infrastructure control should choose LiveKit.

### Can I migrate from Vapi to LiveKit?

Migration from Vapi to LiveKit requires rebuilding your agent on LiveKit's open-source framework and integrating your own telephony provider. Vapi is a closed-source API; LiveKit is an open-source framework under Apache 2.0, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/). You cannot export Vapi agent configurations to LiveKit. You must rewrite your agent logic in Python or Node.js, deploy the LiveKit Agents framework to your own infrastructure or LiveKit Cloud, and integrate a SIP trunk for telephony, according to [LiveKit's documentation](https://docs.livekit.io/agents/).

### Which has better latency and call quality?

Vapi and LiveKit do not publish directly comparable latency or call-quality metrics in the supplied sources. Latency depends on your choice of speech-to-text, language model and text-to-speech providers, which both platforms support. Call quality depends on your telephony provider and network conditions.

### Do Vapi and LiveKit support warm transfer?

Vapi supports warm transfer, according to [Vapi's homepage](https://vapi.ai/). LiveKit's warm transfer support is not documented in the supplied sources. Warm transfer lets the agent transfer a call to a human agent while staying on the line to provide context. Teams that need documented warm transfer support should choose Vapi.

_Last updated: October 2026._

---

*Markdown rendering of https://www.voiceagentreviews.com/reviews/vapi-vs-livekit for AI readers and agents. Corrections: hello@voiceagentreviews.com.*
